Impacting the Community

<< Return

N. R. Broussard to receive philanthropy award - 10/12/2016 -

For Immediate Release:October 12, 2016
Contact:Erin Winder

N. R. Broussard to receive philanthropy award

(Lafayette, La.) Community Foundation of Acadiana (CFA) will honor Noe Raywood (N. R.) Broussard at its sixth annual Leaders in Philanthropy Awards Luncheon on Nov. 11 at the Cajundome Convention Center. Doors open at 11 a.m., and the program is from 11:30 a.m. – 1 p.m.

Broussard has been selected to receive the 2016 Leaders in Philanthropy Award for Vermilion Parish for his generous contributions to and support of countless charitable endeavors. Broussard is well known for his generosity and participation in practically every fundraising endeavor in Vermilion Parish. He is a long-time supporter of Vermilion Catholic High School, Palmetto Island State Park, the Abbeville Giant Omelette Celebration and the Vermilion Parish Chamber of Commerce, to name a few.

He recently purchased and donated the old Abbeville Post Office to the Vermilion Parish School Board for its discretionary use. In 1983, he made one of his first, major contributions to the University of Southwestern Louisiana (now ULL) and donated $30,000 to the University Endowment Fund Drive.

His philanthropy extends far beyond Vermilion Parish to Haiti as he supports Father Glenn Meaux’s Haiti Mission as well as the Honduran Island of Utila. He has made numerous contributions for the Utilan people including providing generators for electricity, desks for the schools, musical instruments for the churches and more.

Broussard is one of 13 individuals who will be recognized for making a positive impact in their communities through philanthropy:

  • Vermilion Parish – N. R. Broussard
  • Acadia Parish – Peggy & John Daniel Gielen, III
  • Evangeline Parish – Anita M. Fontenot
  • Iberia Parish – Phil & Reneé Haney
  • Lafayette Parish – James Devin & Ruth Moncus
  • St. Landry Parish – Sue Soileau Brignac
  • St. Martin Parish – Roy & Catherine Poché
  • St. Mary Parish – Dr. Alan M. Hoberman & Dr. Mildred S. Christian (1942-2009)

In addition to the above award recipients, CFA will present corporate awards to Acadian Companies and Chevron – Gulf of Mexico Business Unit for their outstanding philanthropy in Acadiana. Nominations for all awards were submitted by the community and CFA's past board of directors made final selections.

Luncheon seats and tables are open to the public and are now on sale. Seats are $75 each, and tables of eight are $500 each. To register to attend, or for more information on the award recipients, please visit The deadline to purchase seats and tables is Nov. 2. For registration questions, please call 337-769-4849.

Community Foundation of Acadiana’s (CFA) core purpose is to connect all generous people to the causes they care about. CFA is south Louisiana’s premier philanthropic organization benefiting our region, with a particular focus on the parishes of Acadia, Evangeline, Iberia, Lafayette, St. Landry, St. Mary, St. Martin and Vermilion.CFA has realized cumulative gifts of $175 million and has made cumulative grants of over $87 million. Learn more at 



© Copyright 2018, Community Foundation of Acadiana. All rights reserved.